

Orissa Municipal Councils (Postponment Of Elections) Act, 1983

20 of 1983

[11 October 1983]

CONTENTS

- 1. Shot Title And Commencement
- 2. Definitions
- 3. Postponement Of General Elections In Certain Municipal Councils
- 4. Repeal And Savings

SCHEDULE 1 :- <u>SCHEDULE I</u>

Orissa Municipal Councils (Postponment Of Elections) Act, 1983

20 of 1983

[11 October 1983]

AN ACT TO PROVIDE FOR THE POSTPONEMENT OF ECTIONS TO CERTAIN MUNICIPAL COUNCILS OF THE STATE. BE it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Orissa in the Thirty-fourth Year of the Republic of India, as follows:- For the Bill see Orissa Gazette Extraordinary dated the 8th September 1983 (1138)

1. Shot Title And Commencement :-

(1) This Act may be called the Orissa Municipal Councils (Postponement of Elections) Act, 1983.

(2) It shall be deemed to have come into force with effect from the 30th day of May, 1983.

2. Definitions :-

In this Act, unless the context otherwise requires-

(a) "Municipal Act" means the Orissa Municipal Act, 1950(Orissa Act 23 of 1950);

(b) "Municipal Council" means a Municipal Council constituted under the Municipal Act and shall include a Notified Area Council constituted thereunder;

(c) words and expressions used in this Act shall have the same meaning as assigned to them respectively, under the Municipal Act.

<u>3.</u> Postponement Of General Elections In Certain Municipal Councils :-

Notwithstanding anything contained in the Orissa Municipal Councils (Postponement of Elections) Act, 1981(Orissa Act 12 of 1981) o the Orissa Municipal Councils (Postponement of Elections) (No. 2) Act, 1981(Orissa Act 14 of 1981) or the Municipal Act or in any rules or orders made or issued thereunder,-

(a) all proceedings or actions taken in furtherance of holding general elections for the reconstituting of the Municipal Councils specified in the Schedule are hereby cancelled; and

(b) the general elections for the reconstitution of the said Municipal Councils shall be held in accordance with the provisions of the Municipal Act and the rules made thereunder on such date, not being later than the 31st March 1984 as may be fixed by the State Government and the election so held shall, for all purposes, be deemed to be a general election held under that Act.

4. Repeal And Savings :-

(1) The Orissa Municipal Councils (Postponement of Elections) Act, 1981(Orissa Act 12 of 1981), the Orissa Municipal Councils (Postponement of Elections) (No. 2) Act, 1981(Orissa Act 14 of 19810 and the Orissa Municipal Councils (Postponement of Elections) Ordinance, 1983(Orissa Ordinance No. 6 of 1983) are hereby repealed.

(2) Notwithstanding such repeal of the said Ordinance anything done or any action taken thereunder shall be deemed to have been done or taken under this Act.

SCHEDULE 1

SCHEDULE I

- 1. Chikiti Notified Area Council
- 2. Pipil Notified Area Council
- 3. Udala Notified Area Council
- 4. Purusottampur Notified Area Council
- 5. Banpur Notified Area Council
- 6. Jagatsinghpur Notified Area Council
- 7. Buguda Notified Area Council
- 8. Kendrapada Municipal Council
- 9. Jharsguda Municipal Council
- 10. Tarava Notified Area Council

- 11. Bhuban Notified Area Council
- 12. Nimapara Notified Area Council
- 13. Hirakud Notified Area Council
- 14. Deogarh Municipal Council
- 15. Bhubaneswar Municipal Council
- 16. Sambalpur Municipal Council
- 17. Karanjia Notified Area Council
- 18. Junagarh Notified Area Council
- 19. Digapahandi Notified Area Council
- 20. Basudevpur Notified Area Council
- 21. Bellaguntha Notified Area Council
- 22. Talcher Municipal Council
- 23. Padmapur Notified Area Council